Skip to content

Economics Department Scholarships

Scholarship applications are now available. 
Submissions will be due on March 1, 2023.


Items to prepare for the 2022-2023 scholarship application

Two Letters of Recommendation
On the application, you will be asked to provide a name and email address of two references who have agreed to submit a confidential reference form or letter on your behalf. One reference must come from an academic. Your reference will be notified via email through the application process on how to submit their confidential reference form or letter.

While it is not a requirement for the application, the committee encourages all eligible applicants to file a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) so that you don't miss out on opportunities for a Pell Grant.

fill out your fafsa

Economics Scholarships currently offered:

Scholarship Name: Jewell J. and LaRue J. Rasmussen Endowment Fund in Economics

Available to: Junior and senior undergraduate students and graduate students in Economics

Selection Criteria: Awarded to an outstanding Economics major, based on academic record

Amount of Award(s): Varies

Number of Awards: one or more awards per year

Donor: Jewell J. Rasmussen (1908-2004) and LaRue Rasmussen (d. 1980).

Dr. Rasmussen graduated from Snow College in 1929 prior to attending the University of Utah where he received a Bachelor of Science Degree in Economics. He embarked on his teaching career at Granite High School and concurrently pursued his masters degree in economics at the University of Utah, receiving his graduate degree in 1936. After teaching a year at Weber College, Dr. Rasmussen became Director of Research for the Utah Education Association where he served until 1942 when he joined the faculty of the Economics Department at the University of Utah. In the same year he was elected a member of the Board of Directors of Educators Mutual Insurance Association. In 1945 he was elected President of Educators Mutual, a position he held until 1985. Dr. Rasmussen was awarded his doctoral degree in economics from Stanford University and continued his teaching career at the University of Utah, rising from the ranks of instructor to professor. For ten years he served as chairman of the Economics Department. It was said of him that as chairman "he was responsible for the department's intellectual intellectual and academic tolerance as well as our fiercely maintained climate of intellectual freedom . . ." His economics research focused primarily on state and local finance. He retired from the University of Utah in 1977.


Available to: Undergraduate students in Economics

Selection Criteria: Merit and need, at the discretion of the Chair of the Department

Amount of Award: Typically $2,500

Number of Awards: Typically two

Donor: John Staskow in honor of his wife, Rhonda Barrus Staskow, an alumna of the Department of Economics.


Available to: Undergraduate students in Economics

Selection Criteria:

  1. Must be a Utah resident (U.S. citizens or eligible non-citizens), entering freshmen, transfer or continuing student seeking a first bachelor’s degree.
  2. Eligible students must have a minimum 3.5 cumulative GPA and must enroll for a minimum of twelve credit hours each semester.

Amount of Award: Varies

Number of Awards: Five-seven

Graduate Fellowships

 Offered by the Department of Economics. Awarded by merit per faculty nomination. No need to apply.


Available to: Doctoral candidates in Economics. In rare circumstances it may be awarded to an undergraduate with senior class standing.

Selection Criteria:

  1. Recipients shall be full-time students who are U.S. citizens or permanent residents
  2. They shall have passed the qualifying exam on the first attempt
  3. They have a cumulative GPA of a 3.7 and shall maintain a 3.7 GPA each semester. Awarded at the discretion of the selection committee

Amount of Award: Varies

Number of Awards: One per year

Donor: Established in 1999 by Siegfried G. and Ellen G. Karsten as the Howard-Karsten Endowed Fellowship/Scholarship Fund in the Department of Economics in memory of Aubrey Howard.



Available to: Doctoral students in economics specializing in international and development economics

Selection Criteria: Merit

Amount of Award: Typically $7,500 in 2017-2018

Number of Awards: Typically one

Donor: Professor Stephen Reynolds held a PhD in Economics and taught at the University of Utah for 47 years. He loved teaching and he loved his family. Steve was known and admired throughout the world, and he impacted thousands of lives both through his teaching and his stoic goodness. He taught in Europe, Central America and Asia. He came to love Asia and Thailand in particular where he left a lasting legacy.

CSBS Graduate Fellowships

Please consider applying for fellowships offered directly through the College of Social and Behavioral Science.

Scholarship applications are now available.

Submissions are due April 1, 2019.

start your application today 

Last Updated: 6/12/24